农业信息管理标准(AIMS)支持农业领域开放获取和开放数据的标准、技术和最佳实践。目标是为全世界的农业信息管理专家创建一个获取农业知识的平台。鉴于此,AIMS包含以下核心内容:

  • 信息管理资源
  • 信息管理建议
  • 实践社区
  • 能力开发

       AIMS也是有关获取农业标准、技术和最佳实践的信息门户。同时它也是一个联系全世界信息管理工作者的一个论坛,基于此讨论农业信息的开放获取和开放数据。AIMS是协作和互操作性的坚决拥护者。

       AIMS提供以下服务:

  • 如何管理、传播、分享和交流农业信息的建议;
  • 农业领域元数据标准、技术和词汇使用的最佳实践;
  • 以互操作性、可重复使用性和合作为中心的实践社区;
  • 拓展性活动。

        农业研究与发展信息共享体系(CIARD)是一项旨在于推动开放农业知识发展的全球性运动,AIMS是它的有机组成部分。

 

         AIMS是一个信息管理资源的目录

       依托词汇、元数据集与工具(VEST)目录,AIMS已成为一个发现农业领域使用的词汇、技术和元数据集的参考门户。例如,某个想启动数字知识库的机构,能够在AIMS找到实施的途径和方法,并且通过AIMS向相关领域的专家求助。

       VEST 目录,与农业研究与发展信息共享体系的信息节点与网关线路图保持一致,该线路图是一个数据集和信息服务目录。通过与AIMS平台相联合,这两种资源的整合提供现有信息资源的获取途径,以及增强农业系统和知识库互操作性的必要语义学解释。

 

         AIMS是一整套的建议

       AIMS在增强农业信息系统互操作性的语义技术发展和实施方面起到了关键作用。与语义网相关的众多倡议正在AIMS社区内实施。这些创新经验旨在支持一些组织和机构,它们希冀以共享的方式消费和发布关联数据、交流农业研究信息,以面对农业领域的新挑战。

       关于如何产生关联开放数据的建议和最佳实践,是AIMS的核心部分:

  • 索引内容,利用广泛使用的词汇表,如多语种农业主题词表(AGROVOC),一个涵盖了食品、营养、农业、渔业、林业和环境等领域的主题词表,已被翻译成为22个语种。AGROVOC作为一个已发布的关联数据集可供获取,与多个词汇表保持一致。
  • 通过使用最佳实践,如有意义的书目元数据(M2B)和可形成关联开放数据型书目数据的编制指南(2.0版)(LODE-BD 2.0),产生适用于书目数据的关联开放数据的编码策略。
  • 通过在农业研究与发展信息共享体系信息节点与网关线路图(CIARD RING)注册,这为访问数据集提供便利,CIARD RING为信息提供者展示他们的服务和数据集提供了一个指南。CIARD RING使得全球农业相关信息资源的发现更加容易。

 

          AIMS是一个实践社区

       AIMS提供了一个开放和免费的空间,围绕信息管理标准、技术和方法论的核心领域交流想法、建议、问题和解决方案。

      AIMS社区,由来自全球有志于信息管理的各类技术领域的专业人员组成。在AIMS社区注册后,他们按照主题来订阅每月通讯和每日新闻,参与能力建设活动,收阅新闻和重要事件。注册用户可以通过AIMS上的博客和新闻发布来共享所属机构的新闻事件和案例研究。

      AIMS社区成员可以习得信息管理资源的相关知识,在如何使用资源、与其他社区成员建立联系、共享经验、发掘农业信息管理当前趋势、参与讨论和分享社区热点话题帖子等方面获得支持。

 

         AIMS是一个能力开发平台

       AIMS也鼎力支持能力开发活动,旨在增强国家、区域和国际组织以及个人的技术能力,通过以下活动实施农业领域的开放获取和开放数据项目:

  • AIMS网络研讨会 – 是实时在线的项目,往往是时长不超过1个小时的简短演讲,演讲者以PPT的形式围绕一个特定的主题,参与者可以提问互动。
  • 面授培训 – 是按照要求专门安排的。AIMS提供农业信息管理领域的专业知识。培训形式可以是讲座或者会议,通常由一个国家或区域性的机构来管理会议的后勤。
  • 工作坊 – AIMS已经组织农业本体服务(AOS)工作坊多年,聚集了语义驱动的农业信息管理的相关研究人员和实践者。鉴于此,AIMS也协助组织全球与AIMS主题相关的会议和重大活动。

 

        AIMS支持农业领域开放获取和开放数据的倡议

      AIMS为开放获取知识倡议、开放数据倡议在标准、技术和方法论上提供支持。在这个意义上,AIMS通过提供信息管理资源,实践社区和能力开发已成为CIARD运动的一个基准点。

AIMS supports standards, technology and good practices for open access and open data in the agricultural domain. Its goal is to empower agricultural information management specialists all over the world in creating access to agricultural knowledge. AIMS does this in the following pillars:

  • Information Management Resources
  • Recommendations in Information Management
  • Community of Practice
  • Capacity Development

AIMS is also a portal with information about and access to standards, technology and good practices.  It is also a forum for connecting information management workers worldwide and for discussing open access and open data. AIMS stands for collaboration and interoperability.

AIMS provides:

  • advice on how to manage, disseminate, share and exchange agricultural  information;
  • good practices on the use of metadata standards, technologies and vocabularies for the agricultural domain;
  • a community of practice centred on interoperability, reusability and cooperation;
  • development activities

AIMS is part of CIARD, the global movement for open agricultural knowledge for development.

AIMS as a directory of resources in information management

Through the VEST Directory, AIMS becomes a reference portal to discover the vocabularies, technology and metadata sets used in the agricultural domain. For example, an institution seeking to start a digital repository can find how to do it, and who is working in similar areas on AIMS.

The VEST Directory is aligned with the CIARD RING, a directory of datasets and information services. Jointly via the AIMS platform, these two resources provide access to existing information resources and to the semantics that are necessary for enhancing interoperability of agricultural systems and repositories.

AIMS as a set of recommendations

AIMS plays a key role on the development and implementation of semantic technologies for enhancing the interoperability of agricultural information systems. A number of initiatives related to the Semantic Web are taking place within the AIMS community. These innovative experiences are meant to support those institutions that wish to consume and publish linked data as a means of sharing, and exchange agricultural research information in the context of new challenges to agriculture.

Recommendations and good practices on how to produce Linked Open Data are part of the core of AIMS:

  • Indexing content by using widely-used vocabularies as AGROVOC, a subject vocabulary covering areas that include food, nutrition, agriculture, fisheries, forestry and environment, translated into 22 languages. AGROVOC is available as a linked data set published, aligned (linked) with several vocabularies.
  • Encoding strategies for producing Linked Open Data for bibliographical data by the use of good practices like Meaningful Bibliographic Metadata (M2B) and LODE-BD Recommendations 2.0.
  • Facilitating access to datasets through registration at CIARD RING which provides a directory to allow information providers to register their services and datasets. CIARD RING facilitates the discovery of sources of agriculture-related information across the world.

AIMS as a community of practice

AIMS provides an open and free space to exchange ideas, suggestions, questions, and solutions around the core areas of information management standards, technology and methodologies.

The AIMS community is made up of individuals interested in information management from around the world, with a variety of technical expertise. By registering on AIMS, they subscribe to the monthly newsletter and daily news by topic, participate in capacity building activities, and receive news and events. Users can share news and cases studies from their institutions through blogging and publishing sharing news on AIMS.

AIMS community members learn about information management resources, receive support on how to use them, connect with other community members, share experiences, and discover current trends in agricultural information management, participate and share posts on topics of interest to the community.

AIMS as a capacity development platform

AIMS engages in capacity development activities which seek to build the technical capacity of individuals and national/regional/international institutions to implement Open Access and Open Data projects in the agricultural domain in the following activities:

  • Webinars@AIMS – are real-time, online events in form of short presentations where the speaker introduces a specific topic through slides delivered to participants who can interact by posting questions, all covered  in one hour.
  • Face-to-face trainings – these are arranged on request, and AIMS provides expertise in the areas of agricultural information management. These can be in the form of lectures or organized meetings, usually with a national or regional institution managing the logistics aspects of these meetings.
  • Workshops – AIMS have organized over the years Agricultural Ontology Services (AOS) workshops to gather researchers and practitioners in the area of semantic-driven information management in agriculture. In this context, AIMS also collaborates in the organization of conferences and events related to AIMS topics with stakeholders worldwide.

AIMS supports Open Access and Open Data initiatives in Agriculture

AIMS provides support in standards, technologies and methodologies to open access to knowledge initiatives and to open data initiatives. In this regard AIMS becomes a reference point for the CIARD movement through the provision of Information Management Resources, Community of Practice and Capacity Development.