20 June: Join free Webinar : Monitoring the Planet’s Pulse through TRUSTED and TIMELY DATA for a sustainable future

REGISTER ME HERE  for a webinar : Resource Watch – Monitoring the Planet’s Pulse

  • Date: June 20, 2018
  • Time: 1:00 PM UTC.  (1hr duration) 6 AM US Pacific  |   9AM US Eastern | 14:00 UK | 15:00 Geneva | 16:00 Nairobi | 18:30 New Delhi |  21:00 Beijing.
  • Presenter: Craig HansonWorld Resources Institute

All registrants will receive a link to the recording - please register even if you cannot attend the live event.

ABSTRACT

There is more data available today than ever before. Yet, too often policymakers, business leaders, and analysts cannot access the data they need to make informed decisions about the environment and human well-being. That’s why World Resources Institute and over 30 partners built Resource Watch, a dynamic new platform that provides trusted and timely data for a sustainable future. Resource Watch leverages technology, data and human networks to bring unprecedented transparency on the state of the planet.

Curated by WRI’s experts, Resource Watch features hundreds of data sets on the state of natural resources and human well-being all in one place. Users can visualize and analyze the unprecedented challenges facing human society and the planet – including air quality, water crises, energy generation, climate trends, poverty, state instability, sea level rise, human migration, biodiversity and much more – and use the overlay function to learn how these issues intersect. By breaking down traditional silos and studying how issues overlap, we can more effectively understand the causes and solutions to crucial problems.

With Resource Watch users can:

  • Explore changes to the planet and society
  • Visualize patterns between data sets on the map or download data for analysis
  • Sign up for alerts on issues and places that you care about
  • Analyze data to understand underlying causing and find solutions
  • Share new insights through the platform and on social media

SPEAKER

Craig Hanson is the Global Director of Food, Forests & Water at World Resources Institute. In this role, he guides programmatic strategy, catalyzes projects, and ensures a focus on results and strong staff capacity. Craig has co-developed a number of leading initiatives, including Global Forest Watch, the Global Restoration Initiative, the Forest Legality Alliance, the Food Loss and Waste Protocol, Champions 12.3, the Better Buying Lab, and the Food and Land Use Coalition. He is a co-author of the current World Resources Report, Creating a Sustainable Food Future, and lead author on publications such as The Restoration Diagnostic and the Corporate Ecosystem Services Review.

o   After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

o   Please use this automated webinar technology compatibility test

o   About Eye on Earth: https://eye-on-earth.net

Related: 

To keep up-to-date with AIMS news, please, Sign up for AIMS news, follow @AIMS_Community on Twitter.


Add comment

Log in or register to post comments